Hello everyone! Welcome to an exciting and interesting article on the Florida insurance license requirements.
This expertly written guide will analyze the steps on how to get a Florida insurance license, different pre-licensing courses, and insurance licensing requirements in Florida.
By the end of this detailed write-up, your quest on how to become an insurance agent in Florida will be less confusing and much clearer.
In particular, we will focus on the following:
Let’s dive right in!
Florida law requires that any insurance agent, adjuster, or insurance professionals hold an insurance state license to operate.
A license to sell insurance helps the state of Florida maintain high professional, moral and ethical standards in the insurance industry.
Insurance agent licensing also protects the consumer from rogue insurance agents.
The Insurance licensing requirements in Florida vary depending on the:
- Category of insurance products (life & health, property & casualty)
- The business structure of the insurance company (agency or solopreneur)
- Residency status (resident or non-resident)
The Division of Agent and Agency Services – Bureau of Licensing under the Florida Department of Financial Services issues insurance licenses to applicants who satisfy the legal and educational requirements of licensing.
Basic Florida insurance license requirements
Anybody who wishes to get insurance licensing within the state of Florida must satisfy the following state requirements:
- Be of legal age(18 years and above)
- Be a resident of Florida. (Non-residents need to contact the Florida Department of Financial Services)
- Be a US citizen or legal alien with a work permit.
- Hold a valid ID (driving license, military ID, passport)
- Possess a Social Security Number
- Attend a pre-licensing insurance course and accumulate the mandatory credit hours
- Not be an employee of the state department of veteran affairs.
- Have a fingerprint and background check done.
- Complete the online application process and book a date for the final exam.
- Pay the licensing application fees
- Pass the final Florida insurance licensing exam
Please note that the requirements listed above are the minimum requirements for insurance licensing.
Most licenses require some additional requirements.
For example, the life and health insurance license in Florida requires that you:
- Not be employed the state department of veteran affairs
- Not be a director, employee, or have a direct relationship with a funeral home
These additional requirements in the different insurance lines of authority prevent unfair competition, conflict of interest and improve transparency.
Here are some additional requirements for non-residents insurance license transfer:
For agent transfer:
- Obtain Florida residency
- Have at least one continuous year prior licensure in the particular equivalent line of authority you wish to transfer
- Pay the application fee and apply within 90 days of gaining Florida residency.
- Complete fingerprint process
You will not be able to transfer your license (you’ll need to apply for an insurance license as a first-timer) if:
- You are from a non-reciprocity state
- You fail to satisfy the licensing requirements listed above
For an insurance adjuster license transfer, you will need to:
- Obtain Florida residency
- Have at least one continuous year prior licensing in all lines of property and casualty adjuster license in a reciprocal state OR
- Hold a straight one-year prior licensing in an equivalent insurance line of authority from a non-reciprocal state obtained after passing a licensing exam (you will need to show proof of passing an exam)
- Pay the licensing fees and submit a licensing application within 90 days of obtaining Florida residency
License transfer allows you to validate your out-of-state insurance line of authority into the Florida system.
All the requirements listed above are for first-time license applicants.
Let’s switch gears and analyze the step-by-step Florida insurance license process.
Step by step process of getting an insurance license
There is a definite and clear certification path you need to satisfy before earning a Florida Insurance license.
You need to satisfy the age, nationality, and state residency requirements listed above.
The next important step to certification is attaining the required pre-licensing credit hours.
Attend an insurance pre-licensing course
Florida statutes requires that you complete an insurance pre-licensing course before attempting the final state licensing exam.
The required credit pre-licensing hours vary depending on the license type.
Here is a breakdown of pre-licensing course education requirements for different insurance categories:
- Life and health (contracts, fixed and variable annuity) 215 insurance license – 60 hours
- Property and casualty general lines agent license(Property, casualty, auto insurance licensing) 2-20 license – 200 hours
- Life insurance (annuities and variable contracts) 2-14 license – 40 hours
- Florida health agent license 2-40 license – 40 hours
- Personal lines – 20 hours
The state of Florida only recognizes pre-license courses from state-approved Florida insurance schools.
These state-approved insurance schools in Florida offer a list of services and products, including exam prep courses, exam simulators, and practice questions that help you prepare for the final exam.
You can access the pre-licensing classes via an in-person, virtual, or online course.
You don’t need the pre-licensing course credit hours for the 2/15 Florida life insurance license if you:
- Hold a 215 license Florida and have been designated as a Chartered Life Underwriter with over four years of insurance experience and you will need to provide written confirmation from the American Society of underwriters
- Possess a degree from an accredited university with at least nine semester hours of health insurance training
- You’ve spent 60 hours teaching a Florida Department of Financial Services (FDFS) approved pre-licensing course within the last four years before applying
- Transferring your license from an approved state to California (you still need to pass the state exam)
- Hold a valid resident license with an equivalent line of authority for one continuous year before applying for health insurance
You are exempt from the 2-14 life agent pre-license course if:
- You’ve spent at least 40 hours teaching a Florida Department of Financial Services approved pre-licensing course in the last four years
- You possess a degree from an accredited university with at least nine semester hours of health insurance training
- You’ve been awarded the Chartered Life Underwriters (CLU) designation by the American College of Financial Services(you need an official letter from the college)
- Use reciprocity from a recognized state
- You possessed a valid resident license in that particular insurance line of authority one year before applying
- The American College of Financial Services awards you the Certified Life Underwriter(CLU) designation
You’re exempt from attending a pre-license course when applying for the 2-40 health agent license if:
- You’ve used official reciprocity from a recognized state
- You have a degree that requires you to attend not less than nine semester hours in health insurance training
- You owned a valid license in that particular insurance line of authority for at least one year before applying
- In the last four years, you have 40 hours of teaching experience in a department of insurance Florida-approved health agent pre-licensing course
Exemptions for the Florida 220 license:
- You don’t need a 2-20 pre-licensing course if you hold a Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter(CPCU) designation from the American Institute for Property and Liability underwriters.
Pass the state licensing exam
The second important step in your Florida insurance licensing journey is registering and passing the final state exam.
This section will analyze the exam registration procedure, structure, and tricks to pass the exam.
To qualify for the final insurance exam provided you need:
- The required pre-license credit hours
- A signature ID (Driving license, military ID, passport, etc.)
Ensure that the name and contact information on the ID match those on the licensing application forms.
- National security number
- Pay the examination and application fee
- Book for the final exam
Please note that the Florida insurance exam varies in length and structure depending on the particular insurance line of authority you’re pursuing.
For example, the 2-15 life and health license exam contains:
- 165 total questions
- 15 pre-test questions that don’t contribute to your final score
- Time duration of 2 hours and 45 minutes
- 70% pass mark
- Code: InsFL-LHA05
The 2-14 life insurance exam contains:
- 100 total questions
- 15 pretest questions that dont affect your final score
- Time duration of 2 hours
- 70% pass mark
- Code: InsFL-Life01
The 2-40 health exam contains:
- 100 total questions
- 85 scored and 15 pretest questions
- 2 hours time duration
- 70% pass mark or 56 correct answers
- Code: InsFL-Life01
2-20 property and casualty license Florida exam:
- 160 scored, 15 pretest questions
- 70% pass mark
- Duration 3 hours
- Code: InsFL-PC06
Please note that Pearson Vue, a third-party exam provider administers the Florida Department of insurance agent licensing exam on behalf of the state of Florida.
The Florida licensing examination can be done online or at a Pearson Vue examination center.
To book for the Florida Department of insurance license exam, please visit Pearson Vue’s official page at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 888-274-2020.
Here are a few additional information on the Florida Department of insurance licensing exam
1. You can attempt the licensing exam no more than five times in one year.
2. Your licensing exam pass score is valid for one year(if you don’t finish the licensing process in one year, you’ll need to retake the exam).
3. You can schedule the licensing exam at any time.
4. You will get your exam results immediately after completing the exam, the exam results printout will contain a diagnostic breakdown of your performance.
5. You don’t need to register with the Florida Department of insurance before booking for a licensing exam.
To ace your final licensing exam, you need to adequately prepare yourself through intense study and revision of course materials.
Follow these tips if you want to perform better in your exam:
- Arrive early at the examination center. (Arrive at least 30 minutes before the exam login time)
- Ensure that you have all requirements of valid ID, payment receipts, National Social Security Number
- Go through the exam tutorial provided by the exam administrator
- Read the questions carefully before answering
- Attempt the state exam between 5-10 days after finishing the pre-licensing course
- Registering for an exam prep course with a trusted Florida insurance school
Remember that after passing the exam, you need to finish the application process within one year.
Additionally, you’ll need to undergo continuing classes every two years to maintain your public adjuster or insurance agent license in good standing.
Check for crucial licensing information on the myprofile page of the Florida Department of Financial Services page.
The myprofile account will allow you to:
- apply for a license
- change your address
- check your license application, registration, appointment, and continuing education
- print a duplicate license, etc.
After completing the insurance state licensing exam, you’ll need a fingerprint check.
Fingerprints enable the state of Florida to run background checks while also maintaining your records for future use.
Visit the official Florida Department of Financial Services(DFS) website for registration, fingerprint payment, and other fingerprint-related services on www.L1enrollment.com/FLInsurance.
For additional information, visit http://www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents.
Apply for an insurance license
After finishing the pre-licensing course, license exam, and fingerprinting, the final stage is the license application.
Submit an electronic copy of your insurance application to the Florida Department of Financial Services.
Ensure that you have fully paid the insurance licensing fee.
If your application is successful, you’ll receive a notification via your contact address.
You can then print your license certificate on the myprofile page of the insurance department page.
Whether you seek a Florida adjuster license or any other insurance license, you must satisfy the state’s insurance licensing requirements.
The licensing requirements help to standardize and professionalize the insurance industry in Florida.
We hope that our detailed article has answered all your questions on how to get an insurance license in Florida.
Contact the Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Agent and Agency Services—Bureau of Licensing, 200 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee.
For any additional questions, clarifications, or confirmation,
Reach the Florida insurance department via email at AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com.
Please go through our expert answers to some of the Frequently Asked Questions on this topic.