Final Paycheck After Firing
Whether you’ve been let go, recently resigned to take-up a better offer, or have retired, you may be wondering when you’ll receive your final paycheck from employer.
Although most employers believe that the final paycheck can be provided with the usual pay schedule, this is actually false.
Many states have strict rules on providing the final paycheck to an employee.
These rules are also dependent on whether or not the employee was fired, let go, or quit.
Although many companies may simply be naïve or unsure of these rules, they are put in place to protect employees and to ensure that the time they worked is adequately and accurately paid out.
If you’ve been recently fired you can look for your state’s rules below and ensure that your previous company is adhering to the rules and regulations.
You can also check our previous article which discusses what to do if you believe you have been let go or fired unfairly.
Final Paycheck Deadline if Employee is Fired:
- Alabama – no statute
- Alaska – within three working days
- Arizona – within seven working days or next payday, whichever is sooner
- Arkansas – next regular payday
- California – immediately
- Colorado – immediately.
If payroll unit is closed, then within six hours of next workday and if the unit is offsite then within 24 hours.
The employer may decide the method of delivery.
- Connecticut – next business day after removal from position
- Delaware – next scheduled payday
- District of Columbia – next business day
- Florida – no statute
- Georgia – no statute
- Hawaii – immediately, however may be next business day due to extenuating circumstances
- Idaho – whichever is sooner, next payday or within 10 days excluding weekends and holidays.
However, if the former employee makes a written request for earlier payment, then within 48-hours of receiving that request, excluding weekends and holidays.
- Illinois – at time of separation if possible, but no later than next payday.
- Indiana – next scheduled payday
- Iowa – next scheduled payday
- Kansas – next scheduled payday
- Kentucky – whichever is sooner, next scheduled payday or within 14 days.
- Louisiana – whichever is earlier, next scheduled payday or within 15 days.
- Maine – whichever is earlier, next scheduled payday or within two-weeks
- Maryland – next scheduled payday
- Massachusetts – day of separation
- Michigan – next payday
- Minnesota – immediately upon demand by the former employee
- Mississippi – no statute
- Missouri – day of discharge
- Montana – Immediately, unless the employer has written policy which can extend the time to the next payday or 15 days, whichever is sooner
- Nebraska – whichever is earlier, next scheduled payday or within two weeks
- Nevada – immediately
- New Hampshire – within 72-hours, however if an employee was laid-off the employer may opt to wait until the next payday.
- New Jersey – next scheduled payday.
- New Mexico – within five days
- New York – next scheduled payday.
- North Carolina – next scheduled payday.
- North Dakota – next payday
- Ohio – next scheduled payday.
- Oklahoma – next scheduled payday.
- Oregon – by end of first business day after termination or firing.
- Pennsylvania – next scheduled payday.
- Rhode Island – next scheduled payday.
However, if termination is due to merger, relocation, or liquidation of business then within 24-hours.
- South Carolina – within 48-hours or next scheduled payday.
- South Dakota – next payday or upon successful return by former employee of company/employer’s property.
- Tennessee – whichever is later, next scheduled payday or within 21-days
- Texas – within six days.
- Utah – within 24-hours.
- Vermont – within 72-hours.
- Virginia – next scheduled payday.
- Washington – end of next pay period.
- West Virginia – next scheduled payday.
- Wisconsin – whichever is earlier, next payday or within one month.
If termination due to merger, relocation, or liquidation of business then within 24-hours.
- Wyoming – next payday.
I highly recommend that you do your own further due-diligence and request the assistance of an attorney for additional help.
I am not an attorney, and this is not statement of fact or advice or legal advice.
Source for the above information here.